Professional Triathlete


All African/SA Duathlon Championships 2010 Bloemfontein.

This would be my first standard duathlon and I was really looking forward to it! This race took place in Bloemfontein on the 29th of may 2010 at the university sports grounds. It was very cold being 2-5degrees Celsius but was a great race!

I decided to take part in this race 5days before the race as I wouldn’t take part in a race for the next 5weeks, which wasn’t in my plans. I knew it would be a fast race as the likes of Brand du Plessis, Johan Cronje and Gilbert Lucas were present.

…..Onto the 10km run and I would soon find myself next to Johan Cronje who was setting a blistering pace along with Brand du plessis.. It was down to the three of us for the rest of the run which would end up being a 31min04sec”. My PB”

Onto the non-draft 40km bike and it was now …..COLD . I felt good on the bike, but thought that Brand would have a faster bike split than mine… This didn’t happen as I started to pull away from him on the bike, and managed to do a 1H02 bike split.

Onto the run and I now had a DECENT lead on Brand and Johan. Nothing better than realizing that all you need to do is hold on to that lead 🙂

The last run was a little warmer and I managed to extend my lead on the run and did a 15min59sec which was better than I felt.

MY FIRST ITU win! Although I was put U23 I still won.

Great race and even better organization, thanks goes to TSA, BSG,PUMA,GARMIN,PVM and Tiaan.

Keep training, and enjoy your own personal triumphs 😉

Comments on: "MY race report on ALL Africa Duathlon Champs 2010 Bloemfontein" (3)

  1. Hey Rich

    Your blog is looking good keep it up.
    I like what you did with the home page.
    Its nice to have you in PTA as a suffer buddy.
    Well keep the hard work up bru.

    Regards

    Theo

    Keep on 🙂

  2. Richard……way to go!!!!

  3. Congrats rich, nice win! Btw, you look quite decent in your new black suite.

    Ill keep more up to date with your blog, so start posting.

Leave a Reply

