Professional Triathlete


Left to right... , Jonathan Zipf, ME, Steffen Justus

2011 has been a huge growth year for me, and this past weekend I raced in Grimma- East germany at the Bundesliga and German Championships..

Big names – Will Clark , Steffen Justus , Rank, Petzold and most germans were present at the event.. And seemed to be a hot contended field!

We travelled 10 hours to get there, and I was feeling very fast in my warm up the day before ” Always a good sign’

Race day, and wetsuits were permitted and an outside temp of 19-20degrees was perfect conditions..

Swim was pure madness, out and back swim loop with 90 guys.. Needless to say there was some wresseling going on for the 1st 400m of the 750m swim cource.

I had a very good swim, as I found a mass of bikes still left in transition! came in 39th out of the water.
Onto the bike and second pack , we worked hard to catch the 1st pack with the BIG names in by the start of the 3rd lap of the bike..

I knew, front pack would put me in the money, but what type of money? I managed the 10th fastest Bike split of 30.01 for the 20km bike..

Transition 2 was drop off , “more like throw bike to official” run to shoes further down, “throw helmet as no Box” then was out onto 5km run..

I had a Great start and was about 5th out of transition behind, Will Clark Justus and Zipf..

I put the hammer down, and in 500m caught Justus and Zipf.. And managed to carry on going?? I wasn’t sure where my energy was coming fm, but felt very in control.

By the Half way through the 2nd lap of 3 I caught Will Clark “awsome guy” and managed start pulling away..

– was in 1st place… Truly amazed, I put the hammer down more and had more in the legs.. “Felt like a Kenyan”
Haha.. I managed my best 5km PB for the year of 14;47 which i was estatic with!

Onto the finish ,crowds roaring.. And I won, Wow.. What a year so far.!

Now onto the Big Final in Beijing-China on the 11th September 🙂 Hopefully this time i wont break my finger or get sick before the event ! Fingers crossed.

RACE SPLITE BELOW…

http://www.muldental-triathlon.de/mt3_Ergebnisse2011Detail.html?wbid=NzA1

Till then! Keep those elbows in 🙂

Rich*

Comments on: "Grimma – German Champs WIN :-)" (2)

  1. Man Oh Man-What a Man! Damn fine ”splendiferous” RIchard~We will be watching you live on the 11th Spetember.
    Gavin and Paula xxx

  2. Paul Kaye said:

    fantastic result Rich, good luck for the 11th, I’ll be announcing Ironman Walesm hopefully the Springboks will be beating Wales in the RWC and you’ll be the first to break the tape in Beijing!
    Paul Kaye

Leave a Reply

