Professional Triathlete


Once again, time has come for me to board a plane to travel abroad.

From Anton ruanova arriving in November, the BSG Energade Triathlon Series over oct-Nov and december and then my brake over 3 weeks in December, things could not have gone better in 2011.

Image

With a 3 week break “2 weeks of NO training whatsoever” and some BIG partying nights inbetween 😉 we even managed to have some good sight seeing experience aswell.

With the thought of 2012 being a HUGE year ahead and the Olympics in mind, I realized we  “Anton and myself” needed to start light training just after christmas. With some Puma nights at the V&A waterfront andmeeting all the crew of MarMostro http://www.puma.com/sailing it was a great time of the year!

January the 4th being my birthday, a HUGE braai took place in Durbanville hills with the family and close friends.

Planned soon after my birthday Anton- http://www.antonruanova.com/ and myeslf moved to Magnolia Guest house in “die boord” Stellenbosh for our base miles of the year..

Some BIG sessions were put in and I even managed to get roped into an event… the Totalsports challenge 🙂 A 13km road run was done there , with no speed work being done priar to the event. Although I realized this may not have been the smartest thing to do, sometimes in life you need to do what you feel like… Keeps one human !

Image

WIth a team like Christoph Suaser, Tim Don and Heerden Herman some punishment was going to get done to the other teams 😉

A great event was had and we were soon back into  25-28hour training weeks. With a win , at the South African Sprint Championships at Blaauwberg http://www.triathlonsa.co.za/Public/ViewNews.aspx?id=470 things were going very well for the 1st few months in Africa .

Image

Time in my home land came to an end on the 21st March when we took the long drive from Cape Town to Pretoria in search of some altitude and a 50m swimming pool..

Under the watchful eye of Lindsey Parry and Rocco Van meiring the past month in Pretoria has been a demanding one … Training with my spanish crew, Anton ruanova and new edition Maria Ortega we were took the first week really easy .

With gastro and stomach Issues for a week, I was getting quite worried on the amount of time I had to gain the benefit of altitude training. After some antibiotics for 3 days and a few days in the bed, things came right and I managed to get a good weeks training before the SA triathlon Champs in P.E

Image

A bad swim and incorrect mindset for the event saw me miss the front pack on the swim and I eneded up in no mans land for the 40km bike leg .. Soon after a jel on the bike my event was over due to sever stomach cramps on the run … A common occurance at the start of my season!

With an hunger to train and perform I knew I needed to get my open water swimming up to scratch. I headed back to Pretoria for a week and a it until I departed for Mauritius on the 28th March.

This past weekend, Coach parry found a swimming event in Warm baths which was a 3km-1.6km and a 800m swim. I decided this would be the BEST thing to aid my open water swimming skill for the African Championships on the 31st March ..

A total of 5.4km of “close to arce pace work” was done this weekend and I managed a good 23.5km swimming excluding monday of travel.

Image

This could have been my best few months in Africa, and I feel ready to head to Mauritius,Sydney and the the US for some swimming , cycling and running 🙂

Africa will remain my faverouite though !

never take a day for granted, Life is a gift 😉

peace

Image

Comments on: "Summer miles in Africa" (2)

  1. Louis Blok said:

    Richard, Best of luck (You determine a lot of your luck) Enjoy and “skop gat”. Keep us posted please. Louis

  2. good luck bud, hoping you will come out on top! 2012 WILL be a good year

Leave a Reply

